Review: The Lost Night, by Jayne Castle (Jayne Ann Krentz)

The Lost Night (Rainshadow, #2, Harmony, #9)The Lost Night by Jayne Castle
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I liked this. Prolific series authors have formulas, and Castle (Krentz) is no exception. But I almost always just sink into her books like they’re the comfortable reading chair in the corner of my room. I know I’ll encounter likeable characters, interesting problems (often with a paranormal edge), fun secondary characters (sometimes non-human), and a well-earned HEA.

The reason this book didn’t get five stars, though, was that, in the beginning, it felt way too much like its predecessor, the first in the series, crossed with the opening of another, older story. I even checked the publication date, just to be sure I hadn’t picked up the wrong book! But that aside, once it got going, I had a great time reading it.

I’ll always buy a Castle/Krentz/Quick novel the day it comes out. And the reason for that is I love her writing, I adore her characters, and I know exactly what I’m going to get. After all, I’ve been reading her since “The Gentle Pirate”, a gazillion years ago! And I’ve loved every word!

View all my reviews

Leave a comment

Filed under Review

Leave a Reply

